Nut butters!

It blew my mind when I found out that all you need to make any nut butter yourself is a food processor and nuts. I use almonds because I believe them to be a better choice than say, peanuts. Store-bought almond butter is really good too, but the only one that I can find here is made with roasted almonds (which kills nutrients), and is about four times as expensive as making your own. Nothing really needs to be added, but I usually add salt, cinnamon, and some coconut oil.

1 batch, then, looks something like this:

3 dl (~1.5 cups) almonds
-> process until coarse meal, add some salt
-> process until paste (you’ll have to stop intermittently to push down the paste from the sides), add cinnamon/cacao to taste, and 1-2 tbsp coconut oil depending on how soft you like it

DONE! Takes about 15 minutes.

May the Raw Force be with you.

Screen shot 2013-02-23 at 3.23.54 PM

7 responses to “Nut butters!

  1. Pingback: Ice cream for breakfast? | envirodiet·

  2. thanks girls for your input : ) I was so hooked by this thing (because I looove almond butter!) that today I even went to Marq (where I’d never been before) to see whether they had *raw* almond butter.. They don’t. They have the Horizon one you can also find at EkoPlaza, which is made with roasted almonds. Interestingly, of the Horizon brand there is the Witte Amandelen version in which almonds are *not* roasted. So what do we know about white almonds? Are they simply almonds without skin? Are they as good for you as normal almonds? Still about Horizon, it seems that their “normal” almond butter is made by only roasted almonds, sooo maybe this means that they don’t use oil to roast them, which would be pretty good. I’m also really interested at what temperature the “good fat” becomes “bad fat” upon roasting/frying: it seems it has to be very, very high and for long, long time.. But this is not really about losing nutrients, so perhaps OT ; )

    • Yes, those are the ones I’ve seen too. I don’t know for sure, but I would assume that the white one is made without the skin of the almonds, as you said. I also don’t know this for sure, but in general I’ve found that by removing the peel/skin of things you lose a lot of nutrients. Brown/white rice is a good example. First site upon googling says “blanching nuts removes their skin and they are no longer considered a whole food. Studies have shown that the skin of nuts are nutrient-rich. For example, researchers found that the flavonoid phytonutrients found in almond skins team up with the vitamin E present in their meat to more than double the antioxidant power delivered by either one of these nutrients separately.” (http://www.whfoods.com/genpage.php?tname=foodspice&dbid=20)

      I love almond butter, too 🙂

  3. Epidemiological studies have a hard time finding acrylamide’s carcinogenic effects, they often don’t. And remember that carbohydrate foods, such as potato, wheat etc. will create most acrylamide when heated.

    • Thanks for your comment! 🙂 I looked into it, and in a way you’re right; the enzymes that are destroyed upon heating almonds are not shown to be any enzymes that our bodies benefit from anyway. However, almonds contain asparagine, an amino acid which when exposed to heat may create the by-product acrylamide, which is a carcinogen.. What further concerns nutrients, I found different info. Some said that certain nutrients were destroyed, some said it didn’t matter. So I entered 100 g’s of almond, raw and roasted into cronometer.com to check the nutritional contents there. What I found was that some nutritional values went down, while others went up. For example, certain oils are released upon heating, which is why roasted nuts have more flavor 🙂

      In the end, I think I still want to stick to raw. I like the taste, but also, if I think of which would make an almond tree grow, I think the unroasted seed wins 🙂

Leave a Reply

