Spelt bread!

I’m ecstatic! Why? Because I made real bread and succeeded! Usually (well, I think I’ve attempted it once before in my little oven and failed, it turns out better when I have a “real” oven at my disposal) it becomes too dense and just.. Bleh. But! Here is a lovely recipe, adapted from this one.

  • 7 (9 also works – basically, 1 satchet) g’s dry yeast
  • 1 tablespoon brown unrefined sugar
  • 3.5 dl (1 1/2 cups) warm water
  • 4 dl (1 1/2 cups) wholemeal spelt flour
  • 3 dl (1 1/2 cups) whole wheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • 3 tablespoons golden flax seeds
  • 0.5 dl (2 tablespoons) rolled oats
  • 0.5 dl sunflower seeds
  • 1-2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 teaspoons almond milk

Stir together yeast, sugar, and water. Let sit for about 10 minutes, until the chemistry is apparent: it’s foaming!. Add the oil.

Measure the flours in a big measuring cup, and add the salt, flax, and oats to it.

Mix flour mixture into the liquids, I used a big spoon and stirred/worked it for two minutes or so. BUT, if you’re less lazy than me, and want a fluffier bread, take it out of the bowl and knead it for a bit! This will help the rising process. Cover the dough with a little whole wheat flour so it doesn’t dry out, cover with a kitchen/tea towel, and set aside to rise for an hour in a place that is warm and not windy.

Turn your oven on to 200°C, and grease a bread loaf pan with coconut oil. Take the dough out and knead it on a clean surface (cutting board for me, I don’t trust that I can clean my counter for some reason). Shape the dough into a log and put it into the pan, and wrap it all in the towel again and put it back in that little place we talked about before for 35 minutes.

Now take it out! Brush it with almond milk (I didn’t have any other brushes than paintbrushes so I just poured some milk on the dough…) and sprinkle the top with whatever you want. But I recommend it’s more oats, pumpkin seeds, flax seeds, sunflower seeds..

Into the oven it goes, for about 30 minutes, until it looks nice and your apartment smells like a bakery. Get it out of the pan and onto a rack to cool… Then eat it with the hummus your friend just gave to you and with the sweet potato-carrot-lentil soup you just made.

2 responses to “Spelt bread!

  1. Pingback: Statistics | envirodiet·

Leave a Reply

