Rockin’ Moroccan + good news

Apart from sharing a dinner recipe with you, I also want to share some great news! In short: I’m going to le second home over the summer! It’s a bit tough for the old head sometimes, to not know what to call all these places. I want to call Sweden, the U.S., and the Netherlands all home. Ok, nothing is stopping me; I’ll move on. The second part of those amazing news is that I will spend a month at a hospital there (not as a patient), mainly in the immunology lab! How cool?

Personally, I can’t believe it. It makes me so excited to think about that my brain malfunctions. So I’m just going to pass on this slightly modified recipe, originally from here (the picture is also from there). It’s amazing, especially the next day.

 

Chickpea stew!

Day one:
soak chickpeas (really, do avoid the cans)

Day two:
– cook the chickpeas (not in the soaking water, rinse them thoroughly) save about 2 dl of cooking liquid. When I boil them, I add 1 tsp of salt + 1 tsp of baking powder to the water. I don’t know why, because I’m not sure whether the baking soda is supposed to go in the soaking or the cooking water. Anyway, it supposedly reduces cooking time and the risk of flatulence.

– Grab a bell pepper (red) and chop it up, and bake in the oven for about half hour at 200. Check now and then so that it’s not burning (I added oil)

– In a cup, get your spices measured up:
1 tsp cumin
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp dried oregano
1/2 tsp turmeric
pinch of cardamom
pinch of cayenne (up to you how spicy you want it)
pinch of grated nutmeg (fresh)
1/2 tsp salt (add more later if needed)

– Chop and saute 1 yellow onion, add
2 cloves of garlic
1/2 tbsp grated ginger

Then add 1 small can tomato paste,
about 1 dl cooking liquid,
2 tbsp raisins,
5 chopped dried apricots

When simmering, add the chickpeas; about 4-5 dl, and cook until excess liquid is gone (shouldn’t be more than a minute or two)

Add juice from 1/2 a lemon, the chopped roasted pepper, about 6 chopped leaves of fresh mint, and about 1/2 dl chopped fresh parsley.

Done!

 

Leave a Reply

