Let me blow your mind: summer rolls

Hay,

If you’re going straight for the recipe, then go ahead and scroll down a bit ’cause I intend to ramble for a minute first. The other day I was thinking about LIFE in a way that’s usually triggered by people-watching. You know, when you’re just sitting somewhere drinking coffee, or waiting by the traffic light, and all these people with life stories you’ll never know zoom/bike/walk/run past you to destinations unknown. My number 1 (or at least among the top ones) mental weight in life is the whole situation of ‘figuring it out’. What you’re going to do. It seems like it is equated with who you are [going to be]. I don’t want to be defined by what I do or own. I’M A HUMAN BEING, so just let me be.

No. Not feasible, it seems. It shouldn’t have to be like that, but I ‘know’ that if I’d settle for making coffee or teaching yoga for the rest of my life (at a place/studio that wasn’t my own), then I wouldn’t get the stamp of approval (from who? I don’t know. The world?). Still, I did my work. I’ve gone to school. I’m still going to school. What does it matter if I don’t jump on a career path that follows what I studied? Studying to me is mainly about self development and about learning to think. Honestly, for every job I’ve had, including placements within the health sector which is my field of study, most of what I’ve been expected to do has required a bunch of extra training. I feel like we go to school to get that stupid piece of paper at the end. And honestly, that’s fine. But WHY THE PRESSURE of FIGURING LIFE OUT.

Seriously, it’s just life. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with wanting to do something monotonous in the service industry, regardless of whether you own the business or not (because we’re animals and we’re really just all about eating, sleeping, surviving, and reproducing). Most people, regardless of what they do, will spend about eight hours a day, five days per week doing whatever thing, for roughly eleven out of twelve months every year. We get up early, chug coffee (seriously, baristas are like deadly important in society), schlep our asses to work and when evening rolls around we leave, have dinner, watch mind-numbing things on our screen of preference or numb our minds with substances, and then we go to sleep only to wake up the next day and do it all over. On Friday, we’re so happy we lived through another work week that we spend the weekend marinating our brains in alcohol, both celebrating having free time and cursing our enslaved existence.

I know I’m being intense here, with generalizations galore, but I’m just trying to get a point across. One of the reasons, I think, for why not doing something ‘grand’ doesn’t get the silent stamp of approval, is because we’re humans who have a cognitive capacity too great for our own good. It’s both the blessing and bane of our existence.

I just want to be free, and it seems like the only way to live like that is to completely dedicate yourself to what you love and make that your profession, or work your ass off (possibly doing what you love) so that you can make enough dough to not have to work ever again. The funny thing is, that you’ll probably end up at that point faster if you’re passionate about what you’re doing.

Whatever. Just needed to vent. Hungry? Make this:

– Julienne veggies of choice, wrap in soaked rice papers together with vermicelli and leafy greens (also add tofu/tempeh if you feel like it)

– Make sauce of tahini, miso paste, lemon juice, grated ginger and garlic, water, soy sauce and hot sauce

This post was mainly going to be about that recipe but I’m sorry, writing about LIFE sucked the life out of me.

Leave a Reply

